original publication date: 06.17.2024
Edited for clarity.

06.17.2024

Hi!

I didn't expect to write an update so soon. Last night, I was reading about Jekyll, Gatsby, and Hugo--three popular static web generators-- and Netlify--a website deployment software. Installation guides, software requirements, and all that. This article by DZone comparing all three was helpful in the decision-making process.

The decision? It happened when I was reading the article comparing between Github Pages and Netlify. There was an instinctive reaction against the language, implying Github Pages being "outdated" and Netlify as "an upgrade."

The potential learning curve of the static website generators and the article's language made me wonder why I wanted to visually improve the site instead of focusing on building the structure. If I'm right, then the structure ought to be easy to reproduce. In other words, I may have been missing the tree for the forest.

The current website sure needs an update but of content, not of visuals (at least not as extreme as I previously thought). I have the template that I created as I built the second mind garden a few months back, and I think with a particular color scheme and structural updates, the experience will be smooth.

TL;DR: Will keep using TiddlyWiki/Blink as the base of the website. The Gatsby, Hugo, or Jekyll question will be put aside for now. Such complexities aren't part of my vision. Will focus on building the website's structure rather than focus on the visuals. Next steps is to update the current website (content and structure) with the new template.

That's all for now!


last updated: 10/15/2024